News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/14/2017 9:10:57 AM to 4/14/2017 9:12:45 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: April 14, 2017

[ARCHIVED] County recognizes its 17 public safety dispatchers

The Board of County Commissioners passed a proclamation April 4, 2017, recognizing April 9-15, 2017 as National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week, honoring Nye County's 17 public safety communicators.
The public safety communicators for Nye County are:
Natalie Arms           Angelo Lance 
Danny Bias              Dawn Licata 
Tammy Carroll        David Markwell 
Ashley Castillo        Stephanie Rucker 
Elizabeth Cruz         Barbara Tucker 
Roann Hamman       Maverick Vitto 
Johnnie Haulman     Rebecca Weaver 
Leighann Johnson    Jolana Whisenant 
Laura Kutz
County Manager Pam Webster said the county is a tough area to cover. 
“I want to extend my appreciation to these men and women personally,” Webster said. “They do it day in and day out, and nights too.”
Nye County Sheriff Wehrly said telecommunicators are the lifeline between the people, Sheriff’s Deputies, and emergency services.
“We could not do the work we do without them,” Wehrly said. “They work very, very hard every day. I’m very thankful for that.” 
The week is celebrated annually, and it honors the thousands of men and women who answer emergency calls, dispatch first responders and render life-saving assistance to those in need of help.

Facebook Twitter Email