News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/1/2022 4:33:02 PM to 3/1/2022 5:05:06 PM.

News Flash

Home

Posted on: March 2, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Campaign sign rules restated; Placement happens 60 days before the election

In response to recent questions about campaign sign placements within the Nye County right-of-way, County Code Compliance is restating the regulations that will be enforced. 

Nye County Code 12.04 states no signs, whether placed temporally or otherwise, are allowed to be set in the county-regulated area. That being said, we do recognize the fact that many of you have already purchased your signs for this campaign season with the intention you would be allowed to place them as they have been allowed to be placed in the past. Therefore, Code Compliance proved candidates with the guidelines that will be enforced for this primary election season only. 

This decision is with the understanding that Nye County does reserve the right to alter, amend or change these guidelines at their discretion, at any time, to the restrictions spelled out in NCC Chapter 12.04 and NCC Chapter 17.04

Regulations are as follows: Campaign signs will be allowed within County-regulated Right-of-ways subject to the following: 

1. They must be placed a minimum of 10 feet off the edge of the pavement. 

2. They must be placed a minimum of 3 feet from the flow line of the bar ditch (Flowlines of County maintained bar ditches are typically 8 feet to 10 feet from the edge of pavement). 

3. No sign exceeding 30 inches in height may be placed within the sight triangle easement. Clear sight triangle easement areas must be maintained at all entrances and exits to parking areas, driveways, and 2-way and 4-way intersections.  

a. For all roads with a speed limit less than 45 mph, a 30-foot clear sight triangle must be maintained.

b. For all roads with a speed limit in excess of 45 mph, a 60-foot clear sight triangle must be maintained. 

4. Per Nevada Revised Statutes, campaign signs are only permitted to be placed a minimum of 60 days before the election and must be removed within 30 days after the election. 

5. The provisions of Nevada Revised Statutes 405.020, 405.030, and 405.110, and Nevada Administrative Code 410.440, prevent the placement of any advertising signs, including political signs, within state highway right- of-way or roads, which are owned or controlled by the Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT)

Nye County Code 12.04.040: SIGNS OR STANDARDS; PLACEMENT: Subject to the provisions of this Chapter, signs are authorized to be erected and maintained provided that the supporting standards are located off the County-regulated area and extend no closer than three feet (3') from the right of way, and provided further that the distance between the bottom of the signboard and the normal level of the sidewalk is not less than twelve feet (12'). (Ord. 45(A) § 5, 1964) 

12.04.050: OBSTRUCTIONS PROHIBITED NEAR HIGHWAY: Except as provided in Section 12.04.040 of this Chapter, no building, vehicle, sign, object or other obstruction of any nature whatsoever shall be permitted to be located or maintained permanently or temporarily on the County-regulated area. However, where the curb line of the highway extends inside and within the highway right of way, and the sidewalk or pedestrian lane is constructed within such right of way with the express permission of the State or any agencies or departments thereof, the County-regulated area shall be defined to be that six-foot (6') strip of land or area adjacent to and bordering on the curb line as distinguished from the right-of-way line. (Ord. 45(A) § 4, 1964) 

12.04.060: OBSTRUCTIONS; REMOVAL: The County shall have the power to abate or remove whatever obstruction or encroachment causing the violation of this Chapter, and if required to do so, shall obtain the reasonable amount expended in causing such removal from the responsible party. Before removal by the County as provided in this Chapter, the responsible party, upon written notice duly given, shall have a reasonable time, not to exceed fifteen (15) days, in which to remove or otherwise abate the obstruction or encroachment in question. (Ord. 45(A) § 8, 1964) 

Concerns about a particular sign that might not be placed in conformance with the regulations must be filed through the Nye County website by filing a formal complaint. Code compliance will no longer be responding to emails or phone calls for complaints.

Facebook Twitter Email